Council to establish Floodplain Risk Management Committees

Published on 10 May 2018

Image of Queanbeyan Flood in 2010

Council, in conjunction with the NSW Office of Environment and Heritage, is seeking expressions of interest from community members to form three Floodplain Risk Management Committees.

Three committees will be formed, one each for Braidwood, Bungendore and Queanbeyan.

In Braidwood and Queanbeyan, the committees will assist in completing a Floodplain Risk Management Study and Plan for the local area. In Bungendore, the Floodplain Risk Management Study and Plan has already been adopted and the Committee will assist with the implementation.

It is expected that the Committees will generally meet quarterly at Council offices during working hours. Meetings are expected to take 2-3 hours. Occasional meetings will be held in other locations as required. Public consultation sessions will also be undertaken and will generally occur in the early evening during the week.

Interested members of the community should send their expressions of interest to by Wednesday 6 June.