Annual Art Awards

The Art Awards started in 2008 following a partnership with the Queanbeyan Art Society dating back to 1975.

Council sponsored a major acquisitive prize at the society’s annual exhibition and the prize-winning artworks form the bulk of council’s art collection. The collection also contains additional works acquired at these exhibitions and others that have been gifted, and totals approximately 130 works.

Since 2008 the Art Awards have been both a non-acquisitive and acquisitive exhibition sponsored and managed by QPRC and held in The Q-Exhibition Space, in Queanbeyan. 

Exhibition now open for 2024 Art Awards

Entries have closed for the 2024 QPRC and Bendigo Bank Art Awards and the exhibition is open at The Q Exhibition Space, from Tuesday-Saturday 10am-4pm, until 15 June.

76 artists have exhibited works this year. View the artworks, cast your vote for the People's Choice Awards and maybe purchase a work before the exhibition closes.

2024 Winners

Proudly supported by Bendigo Bank

Logo of the Bendigo Bank - major sponsor
Art Awards 2024 winner Jo Parsons with her daughter and the winning artwork

Major Acquisitive Award Winner Jo Parsons with her work The Language of Women

  • Major Acquisitive Award $5,000 - Jo Parsons for The Language of Women
  • 3D Art Award $3,000 - Robert Schwartz for Spectral Echoes
  • First Nations Award $3,000 - Gail Neuss for The Killing Fields
  • Emerging Artist Award $2,000 - Bridget MacLeod for Affordable Housing
  • Bendigo Pick Award $1,000 - Melanie Lenaghan for Cancer

The Highly Commended artists were:

  • 3D $500 - Len Hegh for Reef Form
  • First Nations $500 - Lea Palij for Complicated Childhood
  • Emerging Artist $500 - Josephine Lenaghan for Good to be Different
  • Bendigo $500 - Claire Shepherd for Street Walking on Monaro

Previous Winners of the Regional Art Award

  • 2008 Timo Nest
  • 2009 Claire Primrose
  • 2010 June Roblom
  • 2011 Timo Nest
  • 2012 Sharon Field
  • 2013 Debra Boyd-Goggon
  • 2014 Sonja Kalenjuk
  • 2015 Claire Primrose
  • 2016 Sally Simpson
  • 2017 Harriet Schwartzrock & Suzanne Moss
  • 2018 Gunther Deix & Erin Conron
  • 2019 Linda Dening
  • 2020 not awarded
  • 2021 Sally Simpson
  • 2022 Frank Lindner
  • 2023 Lesley Sykes
  • 2024 Jo Parsons